White Water Award Practice at Halton

halton rapids LDCC whitewater

Working towards the White Water Award

The fishermen opened up Halton Rapids to kayakers today and we made good use of it. We were on the water for around 4 hours, working toward the white water award. The group doing the WWA were myself, Arne, Paul Jackson, Simon Murby and Adam, led by Paul Simpson & Dave Horn. This time we focused less on group skills and features and more on skills. We spent lots of time ferry gliding (forwards and backwards) and practising braces.

I had one swim coming past the final baffle, I tried to high brace on a wave, missed and capsized. Not the best swim as I hit myself in the face with the paddle giving my self a nose bleed and got jammed on the shallow slabs by my boat and had to let it go down river. In hindsight I could have probably pushed myself back upright off the bottom and saved myself a swim. Aside from that it was a great day, with 2 other LDCC groups out.

A good reminder that I definitely need more low and high brace practice - something for Thursday nights on the flat water.