Christmas Nibbles at Halton

halton rapids LDCC whitewater

A Christmas Paddle on Halton

Our last paddle before Christmas was on a cold, foggy day at Halton.

Excited by the though of mulled wine and mince pies post-paddle, we threw ourselves into paddling (quite literally). We went straight to the top, playing on the waves and working down the rapids. I had a swim on penultimate baffle and was swiftly rescued by Arne and Richard. It was a bit of a frustrating swim, as it really didn’t need to happen. I didn’t hit a rock and the waves weren’t that problematic. I suspect I just didn’t have enough power to punch through the waves, and was a little lazy with my hips. Ah well. No major faff. That did seem to set the theme for the day, with further swims from Simon, Richard, Arne and Paul J! We certainly earned our mince pies. I enjoyed the opportunity to practice my rescues. I managed collecting the paddle fairly well this time (unlike Tebay). However, I did lose hold of Paul’s boat when trying to rescue it. More practice definitely required.

Aside from the rescue practice, we had nice chats with Ribble CC, and I did quite a bit of litter picking before we got out for our Christmas festivities at the shelter. Mulled wine, mince pies, stollen and Christmas cake. An excellent way to end the year!

Halton rapids in a thick mist. Not a breathe of wind. A low, 0.65. Paddlers were Paul B, Richard, Arne, Paul J, Rhi, Simon C, Gibbi, Alan and Steve. 2 runs with a snack break. 2.30pm we assembled down at the stone shelter for some Christmas festivity and were joined by Rachael, Colin H and Rowan. A assortment of eats and drinks were enjoyed.